Dog Licenses

dogsMaine law requires that all dogs six months of age or older be licensed in the municipality where their owner resides. Dog licensing ensures rabies vaccination which protects the health of your pet and anyone who may come in contact with the animal.  
Residents should also know that by licensing their dog they are directly fighting animal cruelty and abuse. Most people do not realize that up to 90% of their dog license fees go directly to the Maine Animal Welfare Program. Dog license fees account for 95% of the State Animal Welfare Program’s entire funding and without these fees, the State would be unable to protect the animals of this state. 

To register your dog at the Town Office:
  • The fee is $6.00 for a spayed or neutered dog and $11.00 for an unaltered dog.
  • Proof of a valid rabies vaccination is required.
  • All dogs must be licensed before January 31 of the upcoming year to avoid a $25 penalty.
One question which comes up frequently at the front counter is: “How would the Town know that I had a dog?”  Since 2007, veterinarian offices must provide certificates of rabies vaccination to the 
State Office of Animal Welfare. The agency forwards the owner’s contact information and animal’s record to the city/town in which the dog owner lives. Municipal Clerks must record the dog’s record within the town’s licensing program and forward a list of unlicensed dogs to the local animal control officer or police department.